If you’re a business owner in California, you’ll likely be overwhelmed with insurance policies that you might need. From protecting your building to your employees, everything should be covered so that you can focus on excelling at your business.
An insurance coverage that is non-negotiable is workers’ compensation insurance. California law requires employers to have workers’ compensation if they have even one employee. What’s more, out-of-state employers may need workers’ compensation coverage if an employee is regularly employed in California or a contract of employment is entered.
Workers’ Compensation 101
In an employee gets hurt on the job, the employer is required by law to pay for workers’ compensation benefits. Whether you get hurt by one event at work, such as falling on a wet floor to getting into a car accident while making deliveries, or repeated exposures at work such as repetitive-motion injuries, the employer can be held responsible.
Workers’ compensation insurance is part of your cost of doing business, therefore no employee must help pay for the policy. In California, you must post the “notice to employees” poster at work where employees will be able to see it. This poster details information about workers’ compensation coverage and where to get medical care for work injuries. For California-specific requirements, view the California Labor Code. Should the employer not put up this poster, the company could face a penalty of up to $7,000 per violation.
Fall Into Your Safety Net
If your employee gets sick or injured on the job, you must:
- Provide a workers’ compensation claim for to them within one working day after the work-related injury or illness is reported.
- Return a copy of the completed form to the employee within one working day of the receipt.
- Forward the claim form and your report of occupational injury or illness to the claims administrator within one working day.
- Within one working day of receiving the employee’s claim, authorize up to $10,000 in appropriate medical treatment.
- Provide transitional work (light duty) whenever appropriate.
- If the employee is the victim of a crime that happened at work, you must give notice of workers’ compensation eligibility within one working day of the crime.
To prevent your employees getting hurt at work, be sure to follow proper safety procedures and supply them with safety tools or education. In addition to protecting your employees, safeguard your business with quality workers’ compensation insurance. For your policy in California, contact Chambers & Company Insurance Brokers today!